Twenty four hours worth of damage

I slept through the past twenty four hours
No foul play involved, no drugs, no alcohol
Sole drudgery at the end of my lips slightly parted
and weakness in the hair unwashed discarded
Here’s what I missed:
My parents’ distress, wondering if I’d begotten depression
They’ve witnessed a past in me not too reluctantly
My mother spoke her anguished cries to anyone who would give her
A cane to build on few lines of help for me
My father soothed her but sat by my stomach
And looked at me speculating where he went so wrong
That his daughter grew up in a lone world of thoughts
And chewed down her finger tips to battle with a weakened heart
My brother went out for a game not much worry accounted for
He knew of my sleeping habits, not of my piling thoughts
Beyond my family was the curiosity of the neighbour
They didn’t give a fuck, just unnecessary judgment harboured

The real cognitions dug in a stone grave
Only the one person in my life had access to
I slept through twenty four hours
And my husband fought my battles unarmed
Two seventy two minutes he spent in agony
No sleep he besought no comfort he partook
No business he could attend to, he jumped on loose hooks
The bus took a ticket to its destination, his did not match
He went searching for home, but his was she a bed did snatch
What came next was a blur in hopes of escape
All he wanted was an out, to smoke he raised
It tore open his health through his breath
His exhale screamed apologies and wreckages glazed
The most devastated passed by a doctor’s diagnosis
The gray cells reinforced ‘you monster‘ only the one who slept could repress
Hatred – his illusion owned – brimmed up to his chest
Left all caress out only shackled duress
When seventeen hours had crossed the third pill was down his throat
He waited to set all correct, the path I’d bethrown
His eyes moaned in turmoil and his hands shook to motion
An undoing was all he wanted, a ruckus after all love
All he did was be our pride, our strength, our success, our soul
Anger claimed his effort by the neck and pulled strings through the hole
Twenty two hours I blamed him from my asleep silence
He called and called, should’ve penned my acid timeless
I slept through damages a day could commit but most I recovered by my own
The hurt I passed to my husband was cruel, only I who discharged
Twenty four hours’ worth of pain I wrung on a soul, pure, enlarged

Leave a Reply

